Congratulations to this year’s Louise Gazzara Award recipient, Margaret Leonard, RN, Bates College!

Maggie’s contributions to the students, staff, and community at Bates embodies the spirit of the Louise Gazzara award. Maggie has been described as a “modern Florence Nightingale” with a “deep fund of knowledge and excellent clinical skills” who has devoted nearly 50 years engaged in fostering the health and well being of adolescents. “Medically her nursing expertise in diagnosing, triage and caring for the student as a total person is unequaled!”

Maggie received the award during NYSCHA | NECHA’s 2019 Annual Meeting in Saratoga Springs, NY.

Congratulations, Maggie!

View all past Louise Gazzara Award recipients


This award honors a college nurse who has made outstanding contributions to her/his college or university, the profession and/or NECHA.

The award was established originally by CHAND (College Health Association of Nurse Directors) in 1992 to honor Louise on the occasion of her retirement in 1992, after 25 distinguished years as Director of Nursing at Tufts University. Louise was also a longstanding member of NECHA, serving as president in 1982.

In 2000, NECHA assumed responsibility for the Louise Gazzara Award, continuing to use the criteria established by CHAND. Perhaps most fittingly, the 2000 award honored Carole Worsh, Director of Health Services at Pine Manor College that year. As founding member of CHAND and NECHA past president, Carole presented a commemorative plaque to Louise in 1992. Gazzara passed away in 2013 leaving a legacy of caring and consideration for the many students that she served throughout the years.


For consideration, nominees need not be an ACHA individual member, but must currently work in college health. Written nominations will be submitted in letter format to the Chair of the Awards Committee no later than June 15 of the given year. The Awards Committee shall consist of 3-5 members appointed by the Board of Directors and shall include the previous year’s recipient. The awards committee will furnish their recommendations to the Board for approval at its June meeting.

2018 Recipient:Wendy Sansone

The 2018 recipient of the Louise Gazzara Award is Wendy Sansone, RN, MSN at Bowdoin College. Her contributions to the students, staff, and community at Bowdoin embody the spirit o


f the Louise Gazzara award. Wendy received the award on Wednesday, November 7, at opening lunch during NECHA’s 2018 Annual Meeting in Portland, Maine and then was celebrated at a dessert & wine reception later that night. Congratulations, Wendy!

View past Louise Gazzara Award recipients


© 2020 NECHA Online