Each year, NECHA honors admirable members of the community, nominated by their peers for exceptional service and commitment to the association and to the field of college health. Call for Nominations for NECHA’s President’s Award and Louise Gazzara Award are NOW CLOSED.

Both award recipients are honored at the NECHA Annual Meeting in Newport, RI on October 26-28, 2022.

NECHA President’s Award

This award recognizes the contributions to College Health by an individual working in the field from the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont. The individual selected should have made significant contributions to the students they serve as well as their institution, and the field of college health. The nominee should be a creative, innovative, dedicated leader and mentor, known for their sharing and caring. This award represents the highest recognition given by the New England College Health Association.

Click here for more information on the NECHA President’s Award including past recipients.

Louise Gazzara Award

This award honors a college health nurse who has made outstanding contributions to NECHA, her/his college or university, and the profession. The award was originally established by CHAND (College Health Association of Nurse Directors) in 1992 to honor Louise Gazzara on the occasion of her retirement after 25 distinguished years as Director of Nursing at Tufts University. Louise was also a longstanding member of NECHA, serving as president in 1982, and ACHA. In 2000, NECHA assumed responsibility for the Louise Gazzara Award, continuing to use the criteria established by CHAND.

Click here for more information on the NECHA Louise Gazzara Award including the past recipients.



ACHA Affiliate New Professional Award: Nominations Now Closed

The ACHA Affiliate New Professionals award recognizes ACHA members who have provided service to the field of college health for FIVE years or less and who have made significant contributions to their institutions and/or affiliate.

Recipients will be announced on ACHA’s website and celebrated at the ACHA annual meeting.

© 2022 NECHA Online